Lynn Baker (sax/electronics)

Lynn Baker is an active saxophone performer and clinician, performing with his own Lynn Baker Quartet, the free-improvisation trio Rhythmic_Void, and the jazz trio Trike. He performs with and directs the Rocky Mountain Jazz Repertoire Orchestra, and plays in many other big bands. He is a Conn-Selmer Artist Clinician and has made appearances at colleges, universities, high schools, and festivals, which have taken him across North America, Europe and to Asia. He is an Origin Records recording artist with Azure Intention released in 2010 and LectroCoustic in 2013.

Lynn is an award-winning composer, performer, and educator winning the 1995 COVisions Award for Jazz Composition, the 1987 Westside Composer Award (Minneapolis, MN), the 1980 Ruth Loraine Close award in performance from the University of Oregon, and the 2005 Downbeat Magazine award for Outstanding Achievement in Jazz Education – College Level. Students and ensembles from Lamont are frequent Downbeat Student Music Award winners. Lynn’s compositions are published by UNC Jazz Press and Malcor Music Publishing. His unique an innovative texts on jazz improvisation; The Shape Method, and accompanying books Etude Supplements, Vols. 1 and 2 can be purchased at amazon. He has also published a set of exercise books that combine jazz foundational materials with flamenco rhythmic concepts – Jazz Fundamentals in Flamenco can also be purchased at amazon.

Lynn is also the Co-Chair of the Jazz Studies Department at the Lamont School of Music, University of Denver, where he coordinates the Small Group program, Improvisation, and History classes. Lynn holds degrees from the University of Oregon and Western Oregon University and has also studied at Mt Hood Community College with Larry McVeigh and at Indiana University with David Baker, Dominic Spera and Eugene Rousseau. Before coming to Denver in 1993 Lynn taught at Indiana University and before that Carleton College, and universities in Oregon.

Ravish Momin (drums/loops/electronics)

Ravish Momin is a versatile percussionist/composer/electronic musician and composer currently residing in New York City.  He has performed and recorded with artists as diverse as pop-star Shakira and legendary AACM saxophonist Kalaparusha Maurice McIntyre. He started performing and recording with his own shape-shifting band Tarana in 2004. Tarana have performed internationally all over the US, Canada, Mexico, Europe, Lebanon, South Africa, India and Taiwan.

As a side-man, he has also toured and recorded with saxophonists Sabir Mateen and Peter Epstein, guitarist Brad Shepik, bassists Wilber Morris and William Parker, violinists Billy Bang, Jason Kao Hwang, percussionist Susie Ibarra, trumpeters Roy Campbell and Raphe Malik, and Pianist Ursel Schlicht’s Ex Tempore. He has also worked with Hip-Hop artist Alap Momin (from Dalek), toured with the rock band Fulton Lights, and has recorded for the CleanFeed, Delmark, NuBop, CIMP, Entropy Stereo, BlueRegard, Plasma Torus and Wondermachine record labels.

Michael Wittgraf (computer/electronics)

Michael Wittgraf is an electronic music composer whose recent work explores live manipulation of feedback, interactive improvisation, and time as data.  His music has been performed in North America, Europe, Asia, South America, and Australia.  His music appears on the Eroica, New Ariel Recordings, and SEAMUS labels.  He has awards, commissions, and recognition from ASCAP, Modern Chamber Players, National Symphony Orchestra, Tempus Fugit, Louisiana State University, University of Minnesota, University of North Dakota, Florida State University, PiKappa Lambda, Zeitgeist, Chiara String Quartet, Bush Foundation, North Dakota Council on the Arts, and more.

Mike is a multi-instrumentalist, performing with the Greater Grand Forks Symphony Orchestra as principal bassoonist, in a number of rock-and-roll bands on keyboards, saxophone, and electric bass, and as a solo and collaborative performer on computer.

He hold the title of Chester Fritz Distinguished Professor at the University of North Dakota, where he is Chair of the Music Department.  His teaching specialties are music technology, composition, theory, and bassoon. He studied with Dominick Argento, Andrew Imbrie, Lloyd Ultan, Jay Alan Yim, Alan Stout, Bill Karlins, Phillip Rhodes, Alex Lubet, and Steven Syverud.  He earned the Doctor of Music degree in composition from Northwestern University, the Master of Arts degree in music composition from the University of Minnesota, and the Bachelor of Arts degree in mathematics from Carleton College.